Author Publishing Tips

What Is Historical Fiction And What Makes Bestselling Historical Fiction Novels

Historical fiction is a literary genre wherein the plot evolves in a time and place somewhere in the past with a crucial component of historical fiction being that it explores the prejudices, prevailing social conditions and trends of the period depicted. It’s a broad term for a genre that has evolved to include many subgenres with examples including alternate historyhistorical fantasy to name but two. Of course, all genres attract their share of critics and the Historical Fiction genre is no different. From online reader reviews to literary commentators Historical Fiction novels are often criticized for their lack of authenticity because of inaccuracies in the events recounted. Because of this definitions differ as to what constitutes a ‘genuine’ historical novel and when the term ’historical novel’ might properly be used. More importantly it begs the question as to What Makes Bestselling Historical Fiction Novels.

It’s not a debate with an easy answer but what we can say for sure is that Historical Fiction has rich and diverse roots, especially in the UK and the USA. With notable luminaries including American James Fenimore Cooper, English author Georgette Heyer and Scottish novelist and poet Naomi Mitchison though the genre has since significantly evolved. Interest has waxed and waned over the years but works like Ken Follett‘s Pillars of the EarthNeal Stephenson‘s Baroque Cycle and Pat Barker‘s Regeneration Trilogy have laid the foundations for an enthusiastic readership which continues to grow. Indeed, there are few fans of the genre who haven’t read The Other Boleyn Girl, by British historian and author Philippa Gregory, Water for Elephants by Canadian-American writer Sara Gruen, Wolf Hall by English writer Hilary Mantel or Beloved by the iconic American writer Toni Morrison. This brings us back to the debate as to what constitutes a ‘genuine’ historical novel and what all the aforementioned authors have in common is exceptional attention to detail. They bring the periods about which they write to life and in doing so add an all-prevailing sense of authenticity to their works. 

The key is robust research. It’s time-consuming but can never be overrated. Google ‘Writing Historical Fiction’ and there is plenty of advice to be had but research by necessity should always be at the top of an aspiring or established Historical Fiction authors list. 

 

HIS FIC QUOTE1
Military Historical Espionage Thriller

Military Historical Espionage Thriller

A taut, exciting read that throws surprises at the reader on a regular basis Assignment Potsdam; Countdown To War proves a powerful debut for Charlie FitzGerald’s Colonel McDesmond Series and a must-read for fans of Military and Historical Fiction Espionage Thrillers.

Read More »

Trusted Book Reviews

We work with both traditionally published and “indie” authors who have self or independently published books and our mission is simple. It’s to discover new and talented authors and help them give their work the attention and awareness it deserves. We do this by providing professional and credible reviews which are respected by our readers. Our primary focus is on fiction across all genres, non – fiction with broad appeal and selected poetry.

  • Over 8000 Book Reviews And Counting
  • All Book Genres Reviewed
  • Books Reviewed In 14 Days Or Less
  • The Only Book Review Site To Offer A Book Review Guarantee

Publishing Tips For Authors & Recommended Book Reviews

LGBTQ+ Literature & Fiction
Book Reviews
Editorial Team

LGBTQ+ Literature & Fiction

Treyton Templeton makes a welcome return to his nefarious ways with a crime yarn that turns the air so blue you can swim in it in Anderson’s latest release Who Scares Wins!

Read More »
Native American Literature
Apocalyptic
Editorial Team

Native American Literature

Readers looking for a genuine nerve shredder need look no further than The Genesis 6 Project! A novel that makes it readers feel like active participants in its unfolding horror as Ferguson keeps them on the edge of their seats throughout.

Read More »
Exploring Agnosticism, Atheism & Spirituality
Book Reviews
Editorial Team

Exploring Agnosticism, Atheism & Spirituality

Both scientific and philosophical, ‘Self Actualisation in the Age of Crisis’ really is a deep-dive into the fabric of humanity and how woefully it has managed itself but offers a silver lining if we should be brave enough to listen and change.

Read More »

Book Reviews That Readers Trust.

From humble beginnings in 2002 as a book review club BookViral has grown to become the first choice in book reviews for authors around the world and one of the biggest book review sites on the web. BookViral reaches millions of potential readers through best practice SEO and a trusted social media presence ensuring readers get unbiased, critical recommendations they can trust. 

BookViral also offers a full suite of author services, including, book editing services for unpublished and self-published authors, website design and bespoke SEO that help authors get discovered by more potential readers as well as industry influencers, such as publishers, agents and film executives. 

© Copyright 2019 BookViral Reviews. All Rights Reserved.