Best New Literary Fiction Novels Reviewed By BookViral

A Review OF A Kind Of Hush By JoDee Neathery

New Literary Fiction Novels

Recommend  for the coveted BookViral Crimson Quill. To make your recommendation simply click on the award badge below..…. 

  • ASIN: ‎ B098M282NP
  • Publisher: ‎ Imagery Lit (3 July 2021)
  • Language: ‎ English
  • Print length: ‎ 340 pages
  • Genre: Literary Fiction

SUMMARY:

A Kind of Hush examines how life is seldom a tidy affair exploring whether there is a gray area between right and wrong. Matt and Summer Mackie with children Willa and Gabe are enjoying a June outing at nearby Zoar Valley Gorge, an area showcasing waterfalls, forests, shale cliffs, and a whitewater creek running through the ravine, when tragedy strikes. One parent survives along with their teenage daughter and seven-year-old son found hiding in the nearby woods. Was this a tragic accident or something more heinous, and if so, whodunnit and whydunit?

The BookViral Review:

A novel with many meaningful messages strewn throughout we are left in little doubt as to the calibre of the author behind the pen with few so adept at capturing the emotions of their characters as JoDee Neathery.

Writing with directness and such a good ear for everyday speech that her characters seem real and plausible after only a few words, her cast of characters is uniformly strong as they sidestep genre clichés to create a rare sense of vibrancy.

The result is a novel of intense fascination. We understand quickly enough who Neathery’s characters are and what their lives are like, but we have no idea how they will behave because so much depends on the unknown circumstances of Summers’s death. But where far too many novels seem to enact rituals with plot lines and variations to watch out for A Kind Of Hush taps into the accidental nature of life and the unscripted tragedies that often shapes it.

On this level, A Kind Of Hush is a brilliant depiction of love, loss and familial ties that manages to be witty, warm, uplifting, and, just when you thought you were safe, utterly heartbreaking. It’s here that Neathery invites us to peer closely at each of her main characters, wanting us to know them as individuals as opposed to bit players in Gabe’s life, with each chapter conveying something tangible and notable. And encouraging us to reflect on how far we would go to protect the ones we love.

A beautifully written novel and a superb follow up to Neathery’s Life In A Box, A Kind Of Hush is an unreservedly recommended five star read.

Recommended Book Reviews
In The BookViral Spotlight

Military Historical Espionage Thriller

Military Historical Espionage Thriller

A taut, exciting read that throws surprises at the reader on a regular basis Assignment Potsdam; Countdown To War proves a powerful debut for Charlie FitzGerald’s Colonel McDesmond Series and a must-read for fans of Military and Historical Fiction Espionage Thrillers.

Read More »
Black & African American Poetry

Black & African American Poetry

Following on from his excellent poetry collection ‘Situationship’ which was recognised by the 2020 North Street Book Prize, Osamase Ekhator offers us ‘I Am You’, an anthology of works dissecting love, religion and social injustice.

Read More »

Author Publishing Tips & Recommended Book Reviews

Author Publishing Tips
Editorial Team

Authors and The Great Romantics

Have you ever come home to a hot bath strewn with rose petals and filled with bubbles, in a bathroom bedecked with scented candles and an ice cold glass of champagne fizzing invitingly on the side. If not you might be thinking poor me but you might want to think again!

Read More »
Author Publishing Tips
Editorial Team

The Secret Of Viral Book Sales

Why do some books go viral while the vast majority fall flat? You might think it’s about advertising. You might think it’s about having a great book. But are you right?

Read More »

Book Reviews That Readers Trust.

From humble beginnings in 2002 as a book review club BookViral has grown to become the first choice in book reviews for authors around the world and one of the biggest book review sites on the web. BookViral reaches millions of potential readers through best practice SEO and a trusted social media presence ensuring readers get unbiased, critical recommendations they can trust. 

BookViral also offers a full suite of author services, including, book editing services for unpublished and self-published authors, website design and bespoke SEO that help authors get discovered by more potential readers as well as industry influencers, such as publishers, agents and film executives. 

© Copyright 2019 BookViral Reviews. All Rights Reserved.