The Best Metaphysical Fiction Reviewed By BookViral

A Review Of Sunnyside Up By Rea Nolan Martin

  • ASIN: ‎ B09PZHWFL3
  • Publisher: ‎ WiaWaka Press (14 Jan. 2022)
  • Language: ‎ English
  • Print length: ‎ 386 pages
  • Page numbers source ISBN: ‎ 0991032241
  • Genre: Metaphysical Fiction 

 

The BookViral Review:

With far too many metaphysical fiction novels seeming to come from the recycling bin these days, Sunnyside Up is cut from new cloth and wholly original. With a Juicily mordant narrative that coils back upon itself and rightly deserving of your full attention as Martin achieves a pitch-perfect balance between narrative and style.

With a propensity in popular fiction for stereotypical protagonists, it’s a real pleasure to read a story centered on and held down by two leads like Adelaide and Felicity Somers. Their wacky eccentricities underpinning the grim relentlessness of Martin’s narrative and foreshadowing neatly pitched swerve balls that will keep her readers guessing throughout.

As with Martin’s Vera Wright, Mystic Tea and The Anesthesia Games there’s something about Sunnyside Up that connects on a profound level. On the surface, it appears to be the inextricable link between death and life which Martin explores through the metaphysical hoops of her plot but the powerful emotional centre this creates speaks more to the human need for love and companionship, a sense of belonging and the inherent need to be understood. Despite the outwardly insurmountable obstacles we face throughout our lives.

As with her previous releases, Martins canny ability for creating intricate shifts in reality and perspective are sure to engender much reflection. With deft timing, this is particularly evident in the draft obituaries that connect chapters. Reminding us it’s the essence rather than the presence of characters that make them most memorable with Martin once again pushing it to the upper echelons of great writing.

A superbly entertaining read for fans of Metaphysical & Visionary Fiction Sunnyside Up is an unreservedly recommended five star read.

Recommended Book Reviews
In The BookViral Spotlight

Teen Action & Adventure Fiction

Teen Action & Adventure Fiction

Roach blends a familiar and believable setting-divulging just enough technical detail and ‘NASA’ secrecy to enthral her young readers with her magical tale, creating the twists and turns of an exciting story that keeps you on the edge of your seat until its finale.

Read More »
Genetic Engineering Science Fiction novels

Genetic Engineering Science Fiction

Brockwell’s imagery is second to none, as Zoe changes irrevocably following a spider bite, with her creator cleverly introducing arachnid characteristics into her transfiguration-not least that of the repulsively fascinating practice of eating one’s lover!

Read More »

Author Publishing Tips & Recommended Book Reviews

Science Fiction Authors & The Future Shape Of The World
Author Blogs
Editorial Team

How Science Fiction Authors Are Shaping Our Future

As fantastical as science fiction seems, there is often something familiar about the incredible concepts dreamt up by its writers. In fact, not only familiar at times but eerily accurate about future advances. Is this some kind of scientific prophesy? Is there something sinister going on?

Read More »
Armageddon and Fantasy Fiction
Author Blogs
Editorial Team

Armageddon and Fantasy Fiction

From films to books to politics, Armageddon is a term which represents a culmination of cataclysmic events- devastating to humans, and destined to change the worlds of both heaven and earth forever.

Read More »

Book Reviews That Readers Trust.

From humble beginnings in 2002 as a book review club BookViral has grown to become the first choice in book reviews for authors around the world and one of the biggest book review sites on the web. BookViral reaches millions of potential readers through best practice SEO and a trusted social media presence ensuring readers get unbiased, critical recommendations they can trust. 

BookViral also offers a full suite of author services, including, book editing services for unpublished and self-published authors, website design and bespoke SEO that help authors get discovered by more potential readers as well as industry influencers, such as publishers, agents and film executives. 

© Copyright 2019 BookViral Reviews. All Rights Reserved.