The Best Metaphysical Fiction Reviewed By BookViral

A Review Of Sunnyside Up By Rea Nolan Martin

  • ASIN: ‎ B09PZHWFL3
  • Publisher: ‎ WiaWaka Press (14 Jan. 2022)
  • Language: ‎ English
  • Print length: ‎ 386 pages
  • Page numbers source ISBN: ‎ 0991032241
  • Genre: Metaphysical Fiction 

 

The BookViral Review:

With far too many metaphysical fiction novels seeming to come from the recycling bin these days, Sunnyside Up is cut from new cloth and wholly original. With a Juicily mordant narrative that coils back upon itself and rightly deserving of your full attention as Martin achieves a pitch-perfect balance between narrative and style.

With a propensity in popular fiction for stereotypical protagonists, it’s a real pleasure to read a story centered on and held down by two leads like Adelaide and Felicity Somers. Their wacky eccentricities underpinning the grim relentlessness of Martin’s narrative and foreshadowing neatly pitched swerve balls that will keep her readers guessing throughout.

As with Martin’s Vera Wright, Mystic Tea and The Anesthesia Games there’s something about Sunnyside Up that connects on a profound level. On the surface, it appears to be the inextricable link between death and life which Martin explores through the metaphysical hoops of her plot but the powerful emotional centre this creates speaks more to the human need for love and companionship, a sense of belonging and the inherent need to be understood. Despite the outwardly insurmountable obstacles we face throughout our lives.

As with her previous releases, Martins canny ability for creating intricate shifts in reality and perspective are sure to engender much reflection. With deft timing, this is particularly evident in the draft obituaries that connect chapters. Reminding us it’s the essence rather than the presence of characters that make them most memorable with Martin once again pushing it to the upper echelons of great writing.

A superbly entertaining read for fans of Metaphysical & Visionary Fiction Sunnyside Up is an unreservedly recommended five star read.

Recommended Book Reviews
In The BookViral Spotlight

Christian Suspense Fiction

Christian Suspense Fiction

Edgy with smart dialogue, at first glance, Chasing Shadows might seem like a conventional romance, but it’s a snapshot of two lives: of a journalist whose success and integrity have placed her life at risk, and a bodyguard whose tragic backstory and strong moral compass have left him desperately seeking reconciliation with a sister he thought was lost to him.

Read More »

Author Publishing Tips & Recommended Book Reviews

Author Publishing Tips
Editorial Team

Authors and The Great Romantics

Have you ever come home to a hot bath strewn with rose petals and filled with bubbles, in a bathroom bedecked with scented candles and an ice cold glass of champagne fizzing invitingly on the side. If not you might be thinking poor me but you might want to think again!

Read More »

Book Reviews That Readers Trust.

From humble beginnings in 2002 as a book review club BookViral has grown to become the first choice in book reviews for authors around the world and one of the biggest book review sites on the web. BookViral reaches millions of potential readers through best practice SEO and a trusted social media presence ensuring readers get unbiased, critical recommendations they can trust. 

BookViral also offers a full suite of author services, including, book editing services for unpublished and self-published authors, website design and bespoke SEO that help authors get discovered by more potential readers as well as industry influencers, such as publishers, agents and film executives. 

© Copyright 2019 BookViral Reviews. All Rights Reserved.