A 5 Star Military Historical Espionage Thriller Reviewed By BookViral

"A must-read for fans of Military and Historical Fiction Espionage Thrillers!"

Recommend  for the coveted BookViral Crimson Quill. To make your recommendation simply click on the award badge below..…. 

  • ASIN: ‎ B09MCNGJJV
  • Publisher: ‎ 93 Waterloo Publishing Co.; 2nd edition (November 21, 2021)
  • Publication date: ‎ November 21, 2021
  • Language: ‎ English
  • Print length: ‎ 349 pages
  • Page numbers source ISBN: ‎ 1735797901
  • Genre: Military Historical Espionage Thriller

 

The BookViral Review:

A taut, exciting read that throws surprises at the reader on a regular basis Assignment Potsdam; Countdown To War proves a powerful debut for Charlie FitzGerald’s Colonel McDesmond Series and a must-read for fans of Military and Historical Fiction Espionage Thrillers.

Succeeding on almost all fronts FitzGerald delivers high octane adventure that is utterly absorbing, extremely smart and – considering its drably grey-green post-war East Berlin setting of obsessives, misdirection, disillusionment, self-delusion and treachery – quite beautifully executed as he brings those suspicion-fueled cold war days to vivid life.

It’s clear from the start that FitzGerald is reaching for an epic sweep with his series and another author might have become bogged down in clichéd drama and two-dimensional characters but Fitzgerald’s attention to detail makes his narrative authentically gripping. Avoiding the traps of dull, dutiful heritage fiction he brings fresh emotional weight to the genre whilst a keen ear for dialect and dialogue brings a level of immediacy which is sadly often lacking.

On this level, Fitzgerald deals with the gritty side of spycraft and does a splendid job of establishing mood and characters to have readers perching on the edge of their seats! Not knowing who is to be trusted and wondering how Mac and Engels will emerge emotionally and physically unscathed as converging plot lines come crashing together.

Some books become classics simply because they’re from a bygone era, others deserve to be called classics because, in addition to being of literary merit, they tell us something about a bygone era. Fitzgerald’s first book in his Colonel McDesmond Series is certainly one of the latter.

A powerful and incisive examination of Cold War ethics, rich in both contemporary resonance and elegiac melancholy Assignment Potsdam; Countdown To War is a five-star read for upmarket thriller audiences and is unreservedly recommended!

Recommended Book Reviews
In The BookViral Spotlight

Veterinary Animal Care & Pets

Veterinary Animal Care & Pets

With its fascinating look at veterinary surgery, ‘The Bone Vet’ offers an accessible guide for both professionals and laymen seeking an understanding of the challenges and realities of animal skeletal and connective tissue issues and corrections.

Read More »

Author Publishing Tips & Recommended Book Reviews

Jealousy In Relationships
Author Publishing Tips
Editorial Team

Jealousy In Relationships

Classic stanza’s that reach the heart and soul  with prose that slip from thought to heart to remind us we are never alone. With worldwide downloads exceeding 250K and the beautiful Heathcliff’s Soul included this is one poetry book you must read.

Read More »
Is There A Future In Self Publishing
Author Blogs
Editorial Team

Is There A Future In Self Publishing

The last year has demonstrated that people will not stop buying books. They offer pleasure, escape, entertainment, and at the very least distraction. But what is the future of self-publishing?

Read More »
Authors and rejection
Author Blogs
Editorial Team

Dealing With Rejection For Authors

As writers, we knowingly place ourselves in a position where we will undoubtedly face more rejection than the average person and it seems to me that how we handle that part of the creative process is often key to our success.

Read More »

Book Reviews That Readers Trust.

From humble beginnings in 2002 as a book review club BookViral has grown to become the first choice in book reviews for authors around the world and one of the biggest book review sites on the web. BookViral reaches millions of potential readers through best practice SEO and a trusted social media presence ensuring readers get unbiased, critical recommendations they can trust. 

BookViral also offers a full suite of author services, including, book editing services for unpublished and self-published authors, website design and bespoke SEO that help authors get discovered by more potential readers as well as industry influencers, such as publishers, agents and film executives. 

© Copyright 2019 BookViral Reviews. All Rights Reserved.