Best Police Procedurals Reviewed By BookViral

"An unsettling but grippingly entertaining read..."

Police Procedurals Book Reviews

Recommend  for the coveted BookViral Crimson Quill. To make your recommendation simply click on the award badge below..…. 

  • ASIN: ‎ B0CJLXT8ZW
  • Publication date: ‎ September 21, 2023
  • Language: ‎ English
  • Print length: ‎ 301 pages
  • Genre:  Police Procedurals

The BookViral Review:

A darkly thrilling novel Once Upon A Crime is one of those gritty thrillers that will leave you wanting more.

Many crime thrillers run the risk of being too dark with characters that almost become caricatures but Brenham has continually refined his novels to give us intriguing plots, perfect pacing and no shortage of interesting revelations.

Once Upon A Crime certainly lives up to those expectations. Brenham has a gift for conveying the vulnerabilities of his characters and here again, his writing oozes authenticity. Especially when focusing on the relationship between Chase and her daughter Emily which provides Brenham with an opportunity to explore the maelstrom of emotions that simmer throughout its pages.

Firing on all cylinders as a crime thriller and police procedural there’s something elemental about Brenham’s writing that proves wholly riveting. Once Upon A Crime lunges for our collective viscera in its opening sequence and never lets go. We feel shock, horror, nausea and fear as the brutal murders mount up whilst the real identity of Chase’s deadly tormentor remains tantalizingly out of reach.

With a tough, smart and cleverly conceived plot the usual genre tropes are in play with Brenham’s bold imagination adding unique twists, but the real power in Once Upon A Crime comes from the emotions that simmer throughout its pages. It never veers from its stoically gripping, procedural tone, yet it begins to take on the quality of a nightmare as Brenham taps into primal, visceral fear with his creation of Penny Grimes who seems at once too horrible to exist and too realistic to be denied.

An unsettling but grippingly entertaining read that will particularly appeal to readers of James Patterson and David Baldacci Once Upon A Crime is highly recommended.

Recommended Book Reviews
In The BookViral Spotlight

American Historical Romance

American Historical Romance

An engaging and charmingly written story that has an absorbing and life-affirming quality Elizabeth’s Mountain is a novel that will have its readers lingering on its pages and reflecting on the happenstance of life.

Read More »
New Sword & Sorcery Fantasy

New Sword & Sorcery Fantasy

The sheer scope of Bobb’s Tales Told by a Tinker series is impossible to ignore with Bobb investing much attention in creating a unique world and magical order where the sense of fun in exploring it is infectious and never slacks in its efforts to wow us.

Read More »

Author Publishing Tips & Recommended Book Reviews

The Occult -why the fascination with dark fiction?
Author Blogs
Editorial Team

The Occult -why the fascination with dark fiction?

While the occult is a broad umbrella, hiding its many forms under its silky black folds, it’s concepts have endured through time, enjoying many a resurgence through the ages. The term ‘occultism’, is relatively new, not used in French or English literature, for instance, until the 19th Century, although the term ‘occult sciences’ was commonly used in the 16th Century to describe practices such as astrology, alchemy, mysticism, and natural magic.

Read More »
Author Publishing Tips
Editorial Team

Why We Love Superheroes & Reading About Them

In our quest for an answer to the question ‘’Why do we love Superheroes?’’, we wanted to gain the perspective of ‘’we’’- the humans, and the psychology behind why we are drawn to these recognisable but otherworldly creatures.

Read More »

Book Reviews That Readers Trust.

From humble beginnings in 2002 as a book review club BookViral has grown to become the first choice in book reviews for authors around the world and one of the biggest book review sites on the web. BookViral reaches millions of potential readers through best practice SEO and a trusted social media presence ensuring readers get unbiased, critical recommendations they can trust. 

BookViral also offers a full suite of author services, including, book editing services for unpublished and self-published authors, website design and bespoke SEO that help authors get discovered by more potential readers as well as industry influencers, such as publishers, agents and film executives. 

© Copyright 2019 BookViral Reviews. All Rights Reserved.