Best Police Procedurals Reviewed By BookViral

"An unsettling but grippingly entertaining read..."

Police Procedurals Book Reviews

Recommend  for the coveted BookViral Crimson Quill. To make your recommendation simply click on the award badge below..…. 

  • ASIN: ‎ B0CJLXT8ZW
  • Publication date: ‎ September 21, 2023
  • Language: ‎ English
  • Print length: ‎ 301 pages
  • Genre:  Police Procedurals

The BookViral Review:

A darkly thrilling novel Once Upon A Crime is one of those gritty thrillers that will leave you wanting more.

Many crime thrillers run the risk of being too dark with characters that almost become caricatures but Brenham has continually refined his novels to give us intriguing plots, perfect pacing and no shortage of interesting revelations.

Once Upon A Crime certainly lives up to those expectations. Brenham has a gift for conveying the vulnerabilities of his characters and here again, his writing oozes authenticity. Especially when focusing on the relationship between Chase and her daughter Emily which provides Brenham with an opportunity to explore the maelstrom of emotions that simmer throughout its pages.

Firing on all cylinders as a crime thriller and police procedural there’s something elemental about Brenham’s writing that proves wholly riveting. Once Upon A Crime lunges for our collective viscera in its opening sequence and never lets go. We feel shock, horror, nausea and fear as the brutal murders mount up whilst the real identity of Chase’s deadly tormentor remains tantalizingly out of reach.

With a tough, smart and cleverly conceived plot the usual genre tropes are in play with Brenham’s bold imagination adding unique twists, but the real power in Once Upon A Crime comes from the emotions that simmer throughout its pages. It never veers from its stoically gripping, procedural tone, yet it begins to take on the quality of a nightmare as Brenham taps into primal, visceral fear with his creation of Penny Grimes who seems at once too horrible to exist and too realistic to be denied.

An unsettling but grippingly entertaining read that will particularly appeal to readers of James Patterson and David Baldacci Once Upon A Crime is highly recommended.

Recommended Book Reviews
In The BookViral Spotlight

Alternative Reality Fiction

Alternative Reality Fiction

A wholly original read, ‘Diana’s Letter (If Diana had lived) showcases Serdar Atmaca’s sophisticated and penetrating prose as he peppers his work with, which pulls you into his story.

Read More »

Author Publishing Tips & Recommended Book Reviews

Book Reviews That Readers Trust.

From humble beginnings in 2002 as a book review club BookViral has grown to become the first choice in book reviews for authors around the world and one of the biggest book review sites on the web. BookViral reaches millions of potential readers through best practice SEO and a trusted social media presence ensuring readers get unbiased, critical recommendations they can trust. 

BookViral also offers a full suite of author services, including, book editing services for unpublished and self-published authors, website design and bespoke SEO that help authors get discovered by more potential readers as well as industry influencers, such as publishers, agents and film executives. 

© Copyright 2019 BookViral Reviews. All Rights Reserved.