Mythology & Folk Tale Book Reviews From BookViral

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

A BookViral Review Of Saving The Dragons By Catriona MacRury

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Recommend  for the coveted BookViral Crimson Quill. To make your recommendation simply click on the award badge below..…. 

SUMMARY: When a mortally wounded dragon is found by 18 year old Tharill Gruaige and his uncle, the question arises, is it a simple matter of out-laws trophy hunting or something more sinister?

The BookViral Review: Genre – Mythology & Folk Tales 

Alchemy and magic are the least of Tharill’s problems in a race to save the dragons of Whidley Island! 

 

The first in an intended series of novels from MacRury Saving The Dragons taps into our continued fascination with Dragon lore whilst bringing a refreshing new perspective which is free of trite clichés. But with far too many fantasy reads wallowing in unnecessary complexity, MacRury only lingers in detail long enough to establish a sense of time and place. 

 

Avoiding the drudgery of predictableness with timely twists and revelations there is however a distinctly satisfying meticulousness with which she has approached her world-building. Her backdrops are well-conceived and there is an economy to her prose which keeps them light whilst she weaves a delightful web of intrigue that will appeal to readers of all ages.

 

Drawing on Celtic influences there is certainly plenty of magic, which is well observed, but it’s thematic and not imperative as it’s MacRury’s characters that ultimately drive the plot. Characters that are thoughtfully introduced to bring depth and complexity to her tale with her young protagonists Tharill and the enigmatic Reesa proving immediately endearing.

 

A delightful fantasy read which is sure to appeal to readers of Mythology & Folk Tales Saving The Dragons is strongly recommended. 

Recommended Book Reviews
In The BookViral Spotlight

Author Publishing Tips & Recommended Book Reviews

Book Reviews That Readers Trust.

From humble beginnings in 2002 as a book review club BookViral has grown to become the first choice in book reviews for authors around the world and one of the biggest book review sites on the web. BookViral reaches millions of potential readers through best practice SEO and a trusted social media presence ensuring readers get unbiased, critical recommendations they can trust. 

BookViral also offers a full suite of author services, including, book editing services for unpublished and self-published authors, website design and bespoke SEO that help authors get discovered by more potential readers as well as industry influencers, such as publishers, agents and film executives. 

© Copyright 2019 BookViral Reviews. All Rights Reserved.