Mythology & Folk Tale Book Reviews From BookViral

A BookViral Review Of Saving The Dragons By Catriona MacRury

Recommend  for the coveted BookViral Crimson Quill. To make your recommendation simply click on the award badge below..…. 

SUMMARY: When a mortally wounded dragon is found by 18 year old Tharill Gruaige and his uncle, the question arises, is it a simple matter of out-laws trophy hunting or something more sinister?

The BookViral Review: Genre – Mythology & Folk Tales 

Alchemy and magic are the least of Tharill’s problems in a race to save the dragons of Whidley Island! 

 

The first in an intended series of novels from MacRury Saving The Dragons taps into our continued fascination with Dragon lore whilst bringing a refreshing new perspective which is free of trite clichés. But with far too many fantasy reads wallowing in unnecessary complexity, MacRury only lingers in detail long enough to establish a sense of time and place. 

 

Avoiding the drudgery of predictableness with timely twists and revelations there is however a distinctly satisfying meticulousness with which she has approached her world-building. Her backdrops are well-conceived and there is an economy to her prose which keeps them light whilst she weaves a delightful web of intrigue that will appeal to readers of all ages.

 

Drawing on Celtic influences there is certainly plenty of magic, which is well observed, but it’s thematic and not imperative as it’s MacRury’s characters that ultimately drive the plot. Characters that are thoughtfully introduced to bring depth and complexity to her tale with her young protagonists Tharill and the enigmatic Reesa proving immediately endearing.

 

A delightful fantasy read which is sure to appeal to readers of Mythology & Folk Tales Saving The Dragons is strongly recommended. 

Recommended Book Reviews
In The BookViral Spotlight

Parody Science Fiction Novels

Parody Science Fiction Novels

A mischievously clever and slickly humorous sci-fi comedy novel The Alas League saga continues with The Lost Ark with Falardeau delivering fun and reflection in equal measure as he gently tweaks the fanaticism of science fiction while at the same time validating it.

Read More »

Author Publishing Tips & Recommended Book Reviews

Author Blogs
Editorial Team

How To Stop Author’s Burnout

When it comes to burn out Authors are probably the last group of people you would think off! But the publishing industry has changed beyond recognition and the demands of a modern author are significantly more complex than they were a mere decade ago.

Read More »
prejudice and racism in literature and fiction
Author Blogs
Editorial Team

Authors writing about prejudice and racism in literature

Whilst the issues of prejudice and discrimination are multi-faceted and complicated beyond belief, a key moment for me was the day I picked up ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’. Harper Lee implicitly drilled down the relative unfairness of human existence into my 12-year-old brain, creating a sense of outrage that has stayed with me throughout my life.

Read More »

Book Reviews That Readers Trust.

From humble beginnings in 2002 as a book review club BookViral has grown to become the first choice in book reviews for authors around the world and one of the biggest book review sites on the web. BookViral reaches millions of potential readers through best practice SEO and a trusted social media presence ensuring readers get unbiased, critical recommendations they can trust. 

BookViral also offers a full suite of author services, including, book editing services for unpublished and self-published authors, website design and bespoke SEO that help authors get discovered by more potential readers as well as industry influencers, such as publishers, agents and film executives. 

© Copyright 2019 BookViral Reviews. All Rights Reserved.