Psychological Horror & Supernatural Horror reviewed by BookViral

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

A Review Of The Smalls By David Edward

Psychological Horror and Supernatural Horror Novels
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Recommend  for the coveted BookViral Crimson Quill. To make your recommendation simply click on the award badge below..…. 

  • ASIN: ‎ B09JGRD4X4
  • Language: ‎ English
  • Print length: ‎ 283 pages
  • Page numbers source ISBN: ‎ B09L3VMLN4
  • Genre: Psychological & Supernatural Horror

 

The BookViral Review:

An exciting and fun read from the very first page, The Smalls is a step change from David Edward’s Dirk Lasher series but one he’s pulled off rather well.

A full-on foray into the realms of Psychological Horror and Supernatural Suspense he weaves his yarn in engaging prose. His plot being both imaginative and wholly convincing in its execution with plenty of unexpected twists and turns along the way as we are introduced to the likes of Ed Leedskalnin, Sheriff ‘Justice’ Stone and Martha.

In the hands of another author, characters like these might have been one-dimensional, but Edward gives even the most abhorrent of his characters their own seemingly justifiable motivations as Ed attempts to unravel the mystery in which he finds himself embroiled and put a stop to the evil of IX-Chel’s re-emergence.

The suspension of disbelief is a requisite in the Psychological Horror and Supernatural Suspense genres and on this count Edward certainly delivers. Taking a genre populated with mediocre offerings and adding his own unique slant on the Gods of old.

You can sense the zeal and joy in its writing. His shifting narrative straddling the otherworldly, the seen and unseen as he confidently juxtaposes myth, horror and the everyday reality of a bygone era, to create an atmosphere of imminent menace.

Delightfully dark, graphic and twisted, fans of Psychological Horror and Supernatural Horror will find everything they could want from the genre in The Smalls. With particular appeal to fans of Dean Koontz and Stephen King it is highly recommended.

Recommended Book Reviews
In The BookViral Spotlight

Family Saga Novels

The Godfather Connection

A new crime family saga begins under the watchful eyes of Godfather Uncle Vincent. Family loyalty, romance, and betrayal ensue in this exciting new drama of a crime family’s rise from humble beginnings in Italy to New York and onto the casinos of Vegas …

Read More »

Author Publishing Tips & Recommended Book Reviews

Author Blogs
Editorial Team

Top Tips For Writing Suspense

There are a number of essential techniques an author must master if they ever want to top a bestsellers list and none more so than the ability to deliver genuine suspense.

Read More »
Fiction and survival stories
Author Blogs
Editorial Team

Fiction & Survival Stories

I read with both fascination and disgust as I learned how he was attacked by a bear who scalped him and left part of his skull flapping open but was not prepared to lay down and die.

Read More »

Book Reviews That Readers Trust.

From humble beginnings in 2002 as a book review club BookViral has grown to become the first choice in book reviews for authors around the world and one of the biggest book review sites on the web. BookViral reaches millions of potential readers through best practice SEO and a trusted social media presence ensuring readers get unbiased, critical recommendations they can trust. 

BookViral also offers a full suite of author services, including, book editing services for unpublished and self-published authors, website design and bespoke SEO that help authors get discovered by more potential readers as well as industry influencers, such as publishers, agents and film executives. 

© Copyright 2019 BookViral Reviews. All Rights Reserved.