YA Romance and Paranormal Fiction Book Reviews From BookViral

A BookViral Review Of The Academy By C J Daly

Recommend  for the coveted BookViral Crimson Quill. To make your recommendation simply click on the award badge below..…. 

SUMMARY: Kate Connelly should be careful what she wishes for. When two mysterious guys show up at the diner where she works, she thinks her wish has come true, until they start giving her a hard time……….

The BookViral Review: Genre – YA Romance and Paranormal Fiction

Few novels genuinely deserve the epithet of ‘page-turner’ but The Academy is certainly worthy of it. Cleverly plotted, beautifully characterized, dark and utterly compelling it’s clear from the start that Daly knows how to weave an intriguing narrative and she is quick to hit her stride. Taking the best elements of YA Romance and Paranormal Fiction the pace rarely lets up as The Academy becomes an all-prevailing presence in Katie Connelly’s life. A life in stark contrast to that lived by The Academy’s cadets and Daly’s carefully constructed narrative which adopts alternating perspectives will have readers on tenterhooks as the characters develop and change.

Despite the ever-popular pull of the genre there are surprisingly few thrillers in the YA genre that create authentic relationships between protagonists, but with its great cast of teens Daly has pitched it perfectly and the burgeoning relationship between Katie and Peter Davenport is touchingly rendered and feels very real. Both are well nuanced and sensitively drawn protagonists with a host of obstacles for them to overcome but Daly keeps us guessing to the very end with a final reveal that’s sure to have far-reaching implications for Katie and her younger siblings Andrew and Mikey.

A superb read that will surely appeal to fans of The Hunger Games and Twilight, The Academy is recommended without reservation.

Recommended Book Reviews
In The BookViral Spotlight

Newly Released Dark Fantasy Novels

Newly Released Dark Fantasy Novels

Something dark is brewing in Montreal and it’s sure to capture your imagination in Bruce Mitchell’s Helruna: An Anglo-Norse Tale of Terror. A magic that has spanned the centuries, manifested in the forces of good and evil as destinies reveal themselves.

Read More »
New Dark LGBTQ Literature

New Dark LGBTQ Literature

Anderson doesn’t have to try to be outlandish he was born to write that way. He excels at pitch-black comedy, is a master of wicked one-liners and as with The Omnipotent the relentless self-interest of Anderson’s central character, Treyton Templeton, spreads like a particularly vehement poison ivy into every aspect of his being.

Read More »

Author Publishing Tips & Recommended Book Reviews

Book Reviews That Readers Trust.

From humble beginnings in 2002 as a book review club BookViral has grown to become the first choice in book reviews for authors around the world and one of the biggest book review sites on the web. BookViral reaches millions of potential readers through best practice SEO and a trusted social media presence ensuring readers get unbiased, critical recommendations they can trust. 

BookViral also offers a full suite of author services, including, book editing services for unpublished and self-published authors, website design and bespoke SEO that help authors get discovered by more potential readers as well as industry influencers, such as publishers, agents and film executives. 

© Copyright 2019 BookViral Reviews. All Rights Reserved.