YA Romance and Paranormal Fiction Book Reviews From BookViral

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

A BookViral Review Of The Academy By C J Daly

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Recommend  for the coveted BookViral Crimson Quill. To make your recommendation simply click on the award badge below..…. 

SUMMARY: Kate Connelly should be careful what she wishes for. When two mysterious guys show up at the diner where she works, she thinks her wish has come true, until they start giving her a hard time……….

The BookViral Review: Genre – YA Romance and Paranormal Fiction

Few novels genuinely deserve the epithet of ‘page-turner’ but The Academy is certainly worthy of it. Cleverly plotted, beautifully characterized, dark and utterly compelling it’s clear from the start that Daly knows how to weave an intriguing narrative and she is quick to hit her stride. Taking the best elements of YA Romance and Paranormal Fiction the pace rarely lets up as The Academy becomes an all-prevailing presence in Katie Connelly’s life. A life in stark contrast to that lived by The Academy’s cadets and Daly’s carefully constructed narrative which adopts alternating perspectives will have readers on tenterhooks as the characters develop and change.

Despite the ever-popular pull of the genre there are surprisingly few thrillers in the YA genre that create authentic relationships between protagonists, but with its great cast of teens Daly has pitched it perfectly and the burgeoning relationship between Katie and Peter Davenport is touchingly rendered and feels very real. Both are well nuanced and sensitively drawn protagonists with a host of obstacles for them to overcome but Daly keeps us guessing to the very end with a final reveal that’s sure to have far-reaching implications for Katie and her younger siblings Andrew and Mikey.

A superb read that will surely appeal to fans of The Hunger Games and Twilight, The Academy is recommended without reservation.

Recommended Book Reviews
In The BookViral Spotlight

Symmetry

There will come a time believers call apocalypse,
Scientists call extinction,
And we all call the world’s end.
I believe the time has already come.

Read More »

The Lady with Balls

Alice Combs was determined to support her two young daughters and herself, so she took the advice of a savvy mentor who told her, “Ask prospective customers what they need and can’t get and then get it for them.”

Read More »

Author Publishing Tips & Recommended Book Reviews

Author Publishing Tips
Editorial Team

Jealousy In Relationships

Classic stanza’s that reach the heart and soul  with prose that slip from thought to heart to remind us we are never alone. With worldwide downloads exceeding 250K and the beautiful Heathcliff’s Soul included this is one poetry book you must read.

Read More »

Book Reviews That Readers Trust.

From humble beginnings in 2002 as a book review club BookViral has grown to become the first choice in book reviews for authors around the world and one of the biggest book review sites on the web. BookViral reaches millions of potential readers through best practice SEO and a trusted social media presence ensuring readers get unbiased, critical recommendations they can trust. 

BookViral also offers a full suite of author services, including, book editing services for unpublished and self-published authors, website design and bespoke SEO that help authors get discovered by more potential readers as well as industry influencers, such as publishers, agents and film executives. 

© Copyright 2019 BookViral Reviews. All Rights Reserved.