Best Sword & Sorcery Fantasy Novels Reviewed By BookViral

A BookViral Review Of The Nameless By K. M. Bishop

SWORD AND SORCERY NOVELS TO READ

Recommend  for the coveted BookViral Crimson Quill. To make your recommendation simply click on the award badge below..…. 

  • ASIN: B08B2Q2KMX
  • Publisher: Shellville Design; 1st edition (17 July 2020)
  • Language: English
  • Print length: 295 pages
  • Genre: Sword and Sorcery

SUMMARY:

The Coven of the Nameless is a brotherhood of assassins, mercenaries, and spies living on the border of the Eternal Realm. Regarding themselves above the ordinary people of the realm, and, therefore, its protector, they recruit orphaned, vulnerable, or otherwise lost children at the most impressionable age. Stripping them of their names, the Nameless subject these children to rigorous training and self-discipline until the day they are given a title-a title that describes their essence. To most, it is an honor. To some, it is a painful reminder that they are forgotten.

The BookViral Review:

Fans of Sword and Sorcery looking for their next favourite read may well find The Nameless ticks all the boxes. A mystery laden fantasy adventure that has superbly nuanced characterization, moral dilemmas, intrigue, and an abundance of action along with a protagonist that’s hard to fault.

With the genre proving ever popular originality is to be prized. Yet far too many new releases feel like recycled storylines and to find something that stands out as truly original is something of a rarity. But The Nameless certainly falls into the latter category.

Bishop’s prose is sharp and is easily accessible and it’s hard not to read the whole thing in a single sitting but what sets it apart from the less stalwart offerings in the genre is the quality of Bishop’s narrative and a cast of wonderfully nuanced characters. Realistically portrayed and well-crafted they are interesting and likeable and in The Tigress, Marten, Tristan and Vorce we find the bones of series with broad appeal.

The Nameless is not entirely devoid of genre tropes but with well-measured pacing and neat plot twists, Bishop ably avoids cliché to deliver a read that is not only entertaining but with its climactic cliffhanger conclusion is sure to leave the reader eager for the next thrilling instalment.

Likely to be well received by fans of the Sword and Sorcery genre The Nameless is highly recommended.

Recommended Book Reviews
In The BookViral Spotlight

Action & Adventure Literary Fiction

Action & Adventure Literary Fiction

A whimsical fantasy bound by human relationships, adventures and desires, ‘Tiger-wolf’, by Brien Cole, plays with time and space as fact blurs with fiction and the world expands and shrinks in response to both past and present.

Read More »
Supernatural Mysteries

Supernatural Mysteries

Fun, decidedly dark and certainly different, Ben, Tico, Holly and Ava have dealt with a lot of strange magic over the years but none stranger than the abduction of Rose by the fearsome beast Rapscallion.

Read More »

Author Publishing Tips & Recommended Book Reviews

best selling memoirs
Author Blogs
Editorial Team

Best Selling Memoirs

Why should we care about these personal experiences, of the reminiscing of an individual with whom we have no obvious connection?

Read More »

Book Reviews That Readers Trust.

From humble beginnings in 2002 as a book review club BookViral has grown to become the first choice in book reviews for authors around the world and one of the biggest book review sites on the web. BookViral reaches millions of potential readers through best practice SEO and a trusted social media presence ensuring readers get unbiased, critical recommendations they can trust. 

BookViral also offers a full suite of author services, including, book editing services for unpublished and self-published authors, website design and bespoke SEO that help authors get discovered by more potential readers as well as industry influencers, such as publishers, agents and film executives. 

© Copyright 2019 BookViral Reviews. All Rights Reserved.