Best Sword & Sorcery Fantasy Novels Reviewed By BookViral

A BookViral Review Of The Nameless By K. M. Bishop

SWORD AND SORCERY NOVELS TO READ

Recommend  for the coveted BookViral Crimson Quill. To make your recommendation simply click on the award badge below..…. 

  • ASIN: B08B2Q2KMX
  • Publisher: Shellville Design; 1st edition (17 July 2020)
  • Language: English
  • Print length: 295 pages
  • Genre: Sword and Sorcery

SUMMARY:

The Coven of the Nameless is a brotherhood of assassins, mercenaries, and spies living on the border of the Eternal Realm. Regarding themselves above the ordinary people of the realm, and, therefore, its protector, they recruit orphaned, vulnerable, or otherwise lost children at the most impressionable age. Stripping them of their names, the Nameless subject these children to rigorous training and self-discipline until the day they are given a title-a title that describes their essence. To most, it is an honor. To some, it is a painful reminder that they are forgotten.

The BookViral Review:

Fans of Sword and Sorcery looking for their next favourite read may well find The Nameless ticks all the boxes. A mystery laden fantasy adventure that has superbly nuanced characterization, moral dilemmas, intrigue, and an abundance of action along with a protagonist that’s hard to fault.

With the genre proving ever popular originality is to be prized. Yet far too many new releases feel like recycled storylines and to find something that stands out as truly original is something of a rarity. But The Nameless certainly falls into the latter category.

Bishop’s prose is sharp and is easily accessible and it’s hard not to read the whole thing in a single sitting but what sets it apart from the less stalwart offerings in the genre is the quality of Bishop’s narrative and a cast of wonderfully nuanced characters. Realistically portrayed and well-crafted they are interesting and likeable and in The Tigress, Marten, Tristan and Vorce we find the bones of series with broad appeal.

The Nameless is not entirely devoid of genre tropes but with well-measured pacing and neat plot twists, Bishop ably avoids cliché to deliver a read that is not only entertaining but with its climactic cliffhanger conclusion is sure to leave the reader eager for the next thrilling instalment.

Likely to be well received by fans of the Sword and Sorcery genre The Nameless is highly recommended.

Recommended Book Reviews
In The BookViral Spotlight

20th Century History of the U.S.

20th Century History of the U.S.

An absorbing read from start to finish Perlsweig’s foray into 20th Century Social & Cultural History of the U.S. proves particularly poignant given the continuing presence of Covid and the ongoing Ukraine war.

Read More »
Fantasy& Magic Books For Children

Fantasy & Magic Books For Children

A wonderfully feisty mystical adventure, reminiscent of a traditional fairy tale but with a scientific twist, ‘The Adventures of Jimmy Crikey-The Emerald Lake’ offers a wonderful mix of reverie, extending and bending realism with fantastical ideas.

Read More »

Author Publishing Tips & Recommended Book Reviews

How the Pandemic Has Influenced Reading & Literary Trends1
Author Blogs
Editorial Team

How the Pandemic Has Influenced Reading & Literary Trends

The Covid-19 pandemic has influenced our consumption of media in a variety of ways. From every new Netflix original being crowned its ‘best ever’, to cinema releases being consistently pushed back, stay at home orders have resulted in us engaging with media differently.

Read More »
prejudice and racism in literature and fiction
Author Blogs
Editorial Team

Authors writing about prejudice and racism in literature

Whilst the issues of prejudice and discrimination are multi-faceted and complicated beyond belief, a key moment for me was the day I picked up ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’. Harper Lee implicitly drilled down the relative unfairness of human existence into my 12-year-old brain, creating a sense of outrage that has stayed with me throughout my life.

Read More »

Book Reviews That Readers Trust.

From humble beginnings in 2002 as a book review club BookViral has grown to become the first choice in book reviews for authors around the world and one of the biggest book review sites on the web. BookViral reaches millions of potential readers through best practice SEO and a trusted social media presence ensuring readers get unbiased, critical recommendations they can trust. 

BookViral also offers a full suite of author services, including, book editing services for unpublished and self-published authors, website design and bespoke SEO that help authors get discovered by more potential readers as well as industry influencers, such as publishers, agents and film executives. 

© Copyright 2019 BookViral Reviews. All Rights Reserved.