Mystery Fiction Book Reviews From BookViral

A BookViral Review Of The Rosario By Peter Sissons

The best price for The Rosario can currently be found onLulu by clicking on the link below.

SUMMARY: Imagine being flown to a new job at a luxury estate belonging to a fabulously rich but obnoxious Englishman, in the Catalonian mountains. This man’s bizarre character is hard to handle, but he is paying you handsomely and you tolerate his rudeness and demands. Then imagine discovering that he is downright dangerous and now you are trapped. What would you do next?

The BookViral Review:

A sharp, taut, action-packed blend of contemporary mystery and historical fiction, The Rosario is one of those clever novels that leaves us in no doubt as to who everybody is, where they are, what they’re doing and why. Quick to establish the emotional groundwork for his characters Sisson’s is quite exceptional when it comes to building intrigue and suspense. Getting inside our heads and keeping us on edge page after page the pacing is quick and agile without being frenzied whilst a superb plot rapidly gathers momentum. With a strong cast of fully developed characters, Katie, Max and the maddeningly unstable Sinclair are well-conceived with Sissons judiciously avoiding the prescriptive stereotypes the genre typically leans towards. We feel Katie and Max’s growing feelings of trepidation as Sinclair becomes increasingly more unpredictable. Each imbued with a real-world presence whilst gritty dialogue is always spot on to render scenes that are compelling and immersive. There are a few tropes to be found in The Rosario, but to his credit, Sissons doesn’t exploit them to the point where we find ourselves reminded of other stories. More importantly, his blending of historical reference neatly blurs the lines between fact and fiction to create an overarching sense of authenticity and uncertainty as we hurtle towards a superb and rewarding denouement.

Powerful and entertaining fiction, The Rosario proves a notable debut for Peter Sissons and one that bodes well for future releases. Likely to appeal to fans of Dan Brown and Clive Eric Cussler it is highly recommended.

Recommended Book Reviews
In The BookViral Spotlight

YA Fiction About Self Harm Book Reviews

YA Fiction About Self Harm

Incredibly powerful, instantly compelling and often heart-breaking, Belko hasn’t picked an easy subject on which to write but her willingness to steer away from a prescriptive approach means she reaches her readers on a powerful emotional level.

Read More »
Historical Romance War Story

Historical Romance War Story

The sensitivity with which McCarron deals with war is a testament to her evident forethought-of relationships forged and lost and of the horrific experiences and lasting pain which is its ultimate legacy.

Read More »

Recommend  for the coveted BookViral Crimson Quill. To make your recommendation simply click on the award badge below..…. 

Author Publishing Tips & Recommended Book Reviews

Social commentary in literature
Author Blogs
Editorial Team

Social Commentary In Literature

Never before has the voice of social commentary in literature sung higher. Freedom of speech has brought with it a cacophony of loudly spoken, written and sometimes harshly promoted opinion and judgement.

Read More »
Author Publishing Tips
Editorial Team

Why We Love Superheroes & Reading About Them

In our quest for an answer to the question ‘’Why do we love Superheroes?’’, we wanted to gain the perspective of ‘’we’’- the humans, and the psychology behind why we are drawn to these recognisable but otherworldly creatures.

Read More »

Book Reviews That Readers Trust.

From humble beginnings in 2002 as a book review club BookViral has grown to become the first choice in book reviews for authors around the world and one of the biggest book review sites on the web. BookViral reaches millions of potential readers through best practice SEO and a trusted social media presence ensuring readers get unbiased, critical recommendations they can trust. 

BookViral also offers a full suite of author services, including, book editing services for unpublished and self-published authors, website design and bespoke SEO that help authors get discovered by more potential readers as well as industry influencers, such as publishers, agents and film executives. 

© Copyright 2019 BookViral Reviews. All Rights Reserved.