The Best War & Military Action Fiction Reviewed By BookViral

"Murphy explores human bonds at their most extraordinary..."

War & Military Action Fiction

Recommend  for the coveted BookViral Crimson Quill. To make your recommendation simply click on the award badge below..…. 

  • ASIN: ‎ B08D5D4N4G
  • Language: ‎ English
  • Print length: ‎ 195 pages
  • Genre: War & Military Action Fiction

The BookViral Review:

An interesting and thought-provoking glimpse of the German resistance during World War II, ‘Resistance’ is the debut novel from Andy Murphy which also explores the roots of the real-life, wild and rebellious, Edelweiss Pirates.

Unsettling at times, it is an assuredly told and often emotional tale that avoids the popular propensity of War Fiction for overtly graphic drama, with Murphy keeping it grounded. Looking beyond the daily veneer of oppression, to explore human bonds at their most extraordinary as he creates a genuine sense of presence through well-observed commentary and thoughtfully rendered characters. Personalities that are readily identifiable and altogether endearing, as the complexities of their lives inevitably lead to decisions that will herald much risk and ultimately tragedy in their lives.

Resistance is first and foremost Karl’s tale, but Murphy remains ever cognizant that his story can’t be told in isolation and on this level he provides a brief but lingering glimpse into the psyche of the German resistance in World War Two. To this end, Murphy’s plot is simple and easy to follow as Karl becomes an integral member of Edith’s resistance cell but where ‘Resistance’ excels is in Murphy’s ability to capture the feel of his setting so we are instantly lost in the era.

It’s a sobering picture he paints which he tempers with moments of love and connection as Karl’s feelings for Gertrud grow but again Murphy’s determined to keep it real. Reminding us of the ever-present specter of death that hung over resistance members, the show trials of Hitler’s Peoples Court where there was no presumption of innocence and the enormous number of death sentences handed down led to over 16,000 executions by guillotine. But despite its tone of inevitably, Resistance maintains its plot ballast throughout to give us a read with genuine substance.

An enjoyable read and a strong debut from Murphy Resistance will have particular appeal to readers of War & Military Action Fiction and is certainly recommended.

Recommended Book Reviews
In The BookViral Spotlight

New Women's Fiction 2022

New Women’s Fiction 2022

Thought provoking and tender, Maksimow’s debut novel explores the very serious subject of abuse and the challenges faced by estranged parents in a read that’s sure to have you hooked from the start.

Read More »

Author Publishing Tips & Recommended Book Reviews

Author Blogs
Editorial Team

Why we like reading Memoirs

What makes a memoir so alluring? After all, they are not generally stuffed full with action, suspense, romance or mystery, which provide the highs and lows or other literature.

Read More »
Author Blogs
Editorial Team

The Essentials Of Author Branding

With so many titles in any given genre is more important than ever that authors establish a significant and differentiated presence in a genre that attracts and retains loyal readers.

Read More »

Book Reviews That Readers Trust.

From humble beginnings in 2002 as a book review club BookViral has grown to become the first choice in book reviews for authors around the world and one of the biggest book review sites on the web. BookViral reaches millions of potential readers through best practice SEO and a trusted social media presence ensuring readers get unbiased, critical recommendations they can trust. 

BookViral also offers a full suite of author services, including, book editing services for unpublished and self-published authors, website design and bespoke SEO that help authors get discovered by more potential readers as well as industry influencers, such as publishers, agents and film executives. 

© Copyright 2019 BookViral Reviews. All Rights Reserved.