Best Black & African American Historical Fiction Reviews From BookViral

"Annabelle’s character brings gravitas and nobility"

Black & African American Historical Fiction
Golden Quill
BookViral Golden Quill Reads

Recommend  for the coveted BookViral Crimson Quill. To make your recommendation simply click on the award badge below..…. 

  • ASIN: ‎ B0CLZ6CKP7
  • Publisher: ‎ Chas Novels (20 Nov. 2023)
  • Print length: ‎ 280 pages
  • Genre: Black & African American Historical Fiction

The BookViral Review:

A rousing Black & African American Historical novel that is true to the genre’s traditional power, gender and cultural dynamics. The Missing Puzzle Piece is the fourth release in Abston’s series and another superb read.

Native Americans may be ever-present in historical novels of the old west, but they’re invariably depicted as un-individuated hordes, rather than anything approaching three-dimensionality. And it’s to Abston’s credit that he has sought to address this.

Throughout his series Abston has set his female characters at the fore as the moral and pragmatic centres of his narrative, lending a markedly feminist perspective to the typically male-dominated landscapes of the ‘western’ novel. Contemplative and absorbing rather than rip-roaring and exciting this makes for a laudable read that’s grounded by a fine-grain sensibility and a host of exceptional characters. And as with previous releases in the series Annabelle’s character brings gravitas and nobility.

The abduction of Joseph at the end of The Two Wolves to be sold into slavery sets a sombre tone in The Missing Puzzle Piece as Annabelle is faced with yet another tragic turn in her life. This makes for an occasionally shocking, sometimes disturbing read but as Abston’s narrative progresses we are also reminded of how the deepest of racial divides can sometimes be bridged by the simplest of actions.

Abston demands from his readers not only an appreciation of the Black & African American Historical novel as a genre but also a willingness to experience the harsh realities of the period with some difficult and unpleasant scenes. It is emotionally intense but as always with Abston’s novels it makes for addictive reading.

An engrossing read for fans of Black & African American Historical novels The Missing Puzzle Piece is unreservedly recommended and a Golden Quill read.

Recommended Book Reviews
In The BookViral Spotlight

Humor Essays

Humor Essays

Wildly witty, bold and occasionally cerebrally penetrating “Bad Day for Grandpa” blends seemingly benign drivel with cuttingly astute observation to give readers something unapologetically different.

Read More »
Biographies of Lawyers & Judges

Biographies of Lawyers & Judges

An inspirational autobiography of one woman’s journey in life and love,
‘BOLD DECISIONS-Memoirs of a Judge, Lawyer, Teacher and Working Mom’ is a deeply insightful account, tracking the blossoming career of Sandra Chapnik as she fights for both her family and the underdog, throughout her life in the legal field.

Read More »

Author Publishing Tips & Recommended Book Reviews

Narrative Lives: The Art of Biographical Fiction
Author Blogs
Editorial Team

The Art of Biographical Fiction

Discover the art of biographical fiction, where history meets imagination. Learn tips for crafting compelling narratives and explore the allure of bringing historical figures to life through storytelling. Ideal for authors and readers of biographical fiction.

Read More »
Authors and rejection
Author Blogs
Editorial Team

Dealing With Rejection For Authors

As writers, we knowingly place ourselves in a position where we will undoubtedly face more rejection than the average person and it seems to me that how we handle that part of the creative process is often key to our success.

Read More »

Book Reviews That Readers Trust.

From humble beginnings in 2002 as a book review club BookViral has grown to become the first choice in book reviews for authors around the world and one of the biggest book review sites on the web. BookViral reaches millions of potential readers through best practice SEO and a trusted social media presence ensuring readers get unbiased, critical recommendations they can trust. 

BookViral also offers a full suite of author services, including, book editing services for unpublished and self-published authors, website design and bespoke SEO that help authors get discovered by more potential readers as well as industry influencers, such as publishers, agents and film executives. 

© Copyright 2019 BookViral Reviews. All Rights Reserved.